Can I Baptize Myself?

Question:

“I was baptized as an infant but now realize that was wrong. In my town there are no New Testament Christians, just denominations. Can I baptize myself? Or must I have an authorized member of the church of Christ do it? Could I just submerge myself? What can I do?”

Answer:

There is no record in the New Testament of anyone baptizing themselves. When Philip taught the eunuch, the Scripture says plainly, “… they both went down into the water, Philip as well as the eunuch, and he baptized him” (Acts 8:38b). I cannot tell you to submerge yourself, as that would be quite different from the pattern of the New Testament.

What can you do? My suggestion is to find a car (or a friend with a car), make an appointment with a Christian in the nearest town and go be baptized. Do not wait; do not make any excuses. You have realized that baptism is a mature act, not for infants. You understand your need. You have come to the point of faith and you know what you need to do.

Do not let anything come between you and your decision. Make the calls now and go now to be baptized by another believer.

You may have other questions about baptism. I’ve created a “BAPTISM” category in the side bar menu of this blog. Click on that link to find more helpful lessons.

Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

