Did I Know Enough About The Purpose of Baptism?

Question:

“I was baptized many years ago and I need to be sure that I knew enough. I knew I had to be baptized so I could be saved and that baptism would put me into the church of Christ. But that is all I knew about the purpose of baptism. Was that enough?”

Answer:

You are not alone. Many people (years after their conversion) question whether they “knew enough” when they were baptized. But look again at what you knew, and then reread Acts 2:37 – 47. When the people in Jerusalem realized they were lost, they were told, “Repent, and each of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit” (verse 38, New American Standard Bible). They did that (Acts 2:41) and the Lord added them to the church (verse 47). How much did they know? They knew they were lost, they were told what to do to be saved, they did it and the Lord added them to the Lord’s church. They knew enough.

According to your question, you knew the same thing they did, you did the same as they did, and the Lord – according to His promise – saved you from sin and added you to His church. You knew enough.

In the years since your baptism, you have grown in faith and knowledge. That is natural and God expects if of you. But that doesn’t mean you didn’t know enough when you were baptized. It simply means you became a baby (or an infant) in Christ (I Corinthians 3:1) when you were baptized into Christ. You were then to “grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ” (Ephesians 4:15). Evidently, you are doing that. Keep growing. But never question the Lord (nor His power) to keep you in fellowship with Him.

2 comments on “Did I Know Enough About The Purpose of Baptism?

  1. I agree. Good article. Clear and to the point. Yet, there may be other specifics to consider like was the baptism actually immersion and was the immersion upon a believer who repented. I think Acts 2:38 is a great passage to express their understand. Also consider that these knew more than just Acts 2:38’s description of baptism. Acts 2:40, “And with many other words he bore witness and continued to exhort them”. Was the connection to the death, burial, and resurrection explained? Should that be understood today? I believe this falls on the teacher rather than the believer.

    May God continue to bless you write such articles.

    • Thank you Scott for the excellent follow-up comments and your discernment. The person who asked this question is an acquaintance of mine. I know some of her history and background (which an online reader wouldn’t know). I ask you and other readers to accept my apology for my presumptions and the lack of clarification. When we counsel and instruct others, a careful examination of the Scripture and a multifaceted understanding of (communication with) the student are key. I appreciate you taking the time to read my thoughts and adding to the discussion. You are welcomed here anytime. May God’s blessings be with you!

Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

