“I Don’t See Anything Wrong With It”

.

I clipped the following from a church bulletin some 20 years ago. A list of helpful considerations when someone says (or we think to ourselves): “I don’t see anything wrong with it. . .”

“examine everything carefully; hold fast to that which is good; abstain from every form of evil”

(1 Thessalonians 5:21b, 22)

 Consider these guidelines when determining whether a practice is right or wrong…

Personal test: Will doing this thing make me a better person (or a better Christian)?

Social test: Will doing it influence others to be better or worse?

Practical test: Will the result of my doing it be desirable?

Universal test: If everyone should do this, would it improve or degrade society?

Scriptural test: Does the Bible endorse it, forbid it or even infer it as wrong?

Stewardship test: Will my doing it constitute a waste of the talent God gave me?

Character test: What will be the influence on my moral and spiritual stamina?

Family test: Will it bring discredit, dishonor and embarrassment to my family?

Publicity test: Would I willing for friends and fellow Christians to know about it?

Common sense test: Does it agree with plain, everyday and ordinary common sense?

Fairness test: Is it honest and is it practicing the Golden Rule?

Problem test: Is it potentially harmful to me and/or others?

One comment on ““I Don’t See Anything Wrong With It”

  1. Pingback: Difficult Decisions | Refresh My Heart In Christ

Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

