Self-Serving Standards

.

Have you heard (or used) any of these phrases to justify something lately? The Scripture references that follow disprove these excuses.

  • I like (Jeremiah 10:23)
  • I feel (Galatians 5:16 – 24)
  • I want (Acts 8:18 – 24)
  • I think (II Kings 5:1 – 14)
  • They do it (I Samuel 8:4 – 8)
  • It seems right (Proverbs 14:12)
  • I am sincere (II Samuel 6:5 – 7)
  • I am always right (II Corinthians 13:5)
  • No one will see me (Proverbs 15:3)
  • It is for a good cause (Romans 3:1 – 8)
  • I don’t see why not (Acts 5:1 – 11)
  • The preacher said so (Galatians 1:6 – 9)
  • Others do worse things (Matthew 7:5)
  • God didn’t say not to (Leviticus 10:1 – 3)
  • God doesn’t mind (I Corinthians 2:10 – 16)
  • It hurts no one but me (I Corinthians 8)
  • Most people thinks it is okay (Matthew 7:13, 14)
  • It has always been done this way (Romans 4:12; Galatians 6:5)
  • It is alright if we do it in God’s name (Matthew 7:21 – 23)
  • God doesn’t expect us to be so technical (I Thessalonians 5:20 – 22)
Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

