Sharing Your Faith If You Have A “Quiet” Personality (Like Me)

quiet

Bible Lesson. Spiritual Encouragement.

“O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. . . For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.” – Psalm 139:1 – 3, 13, 14 (English Standard Version)

“If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing? If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell? But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose.” – 1 Corinthians 12:17, 18 (English Standard Version)

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” – Ephesians 2:10 (English Standard Version)

“Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.” – Colossians 4:5, 6 (English Standard Version)

Which list of characteristics best describes you?

List A

competitive

controlling

daring

fun-loving

spontaneous

impatient

.

List B

nurturing

controlled

calm

deliberate

methodical

inquisitive

.

Of course these traits are not mutually exclusive in any individual person. But if the words in List B describe your basic temperament or personality, it is probably safe to say that these traits apply to you as well. . .

  • You function better in small social settings
  • You do your best thinking alone; processing information internally
  • Crowded, noisy or fast-paced environments drain your energy
  • Rather than talking, you enjoy (or prefer) listening or writing

In the realm of evangelism (outreach), everyone is not a stellar public speaker or debater. You may not get energized at the thought of approaching strangers on the street or in their homes. God made us unique individuals. Using myself as an example, I strive to identify doors that can be opened by quiet persuasion – by deepening my relationships with others and letting things naturally progress from there. 

Being more of an introvert, I communicate best in a personal exchange or through the written word. My style of writing provides me the opportunity to express unique and creative ways to make a spiritual connection with the reader. There is no doubt I would be very hard pressed to verbalize information, insight and perspective in a fast-paced “religious” debate or conversation.

Writing gives me the chance to reach those who may be reluctant to enter the doors of a church building or participate in a face-to-face “spiritual” meeting. It also provides me the opportunity to discuss issues that most conventional audience may not want to hear – provocative yet critical subjects that may touch nerves but need to be addressed.

As I type this, I have my life mission statement posted above my desk. The second line reads. . . 

I will fulfill the purpose God uniquely created me to fulfill; with the unique temperament, talents and abilities He has given me.

If you are not an extrovert or a “people person”, let Christ shine through you using the unique personality, talents and abilities He has given you. As the apostle Paul instructed us, “the fruit that the Spirit produces in a person’s life is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these kinds of things” (Galatians 5:22 – 23; Easy-to-Read Version). As you go about your day – share your faith, share God’s love and share God’s message as you share your life.

Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

