Controlling Your Emotions (Psalm 42:1 – 6)

Controlling Your Emotions. (Psalm 42:1 – 6) Bible Lesson. Teen Bible Lesson.

Scripture Text:

Psalm 42:1 – 6

As a deer pants for flowing streams,
    so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God,
    for the living God.
When shall I come and appear before God?
My tears have been my food
    day and night,
while they say to me all the day long,
    “Where is your God?”
These things I remember,
    as I pour out my soul:
how I would go with the throng
    and lead them in procession to the house of God
with glad shouts and songs of praise,
    a multitude keeping festival.

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my salvation and my God.

My soul is cast down within me;
    therefore I remember you
from the land of Jordan and of Hermon,
    from Mount Mizar.

(English Standard Version)

.

Study verses 1 – 3

1. The psalmist uses the metaphor of thirst to describe _______________________.

2. An enemy’s sarcasm always make a trial harder to bear. What sarcastic jab did David’s enemies make?

3. What did David do when he was almost overcome by the grief and anger of a situation?

.

Study verse 4

4. What memories helped the psalmist cope with fear and sadness?

5. What emotions did he recall?

6. Why had he been so content back in Jerusalem?

.

Study verses 5 and 6

7. To whom is David giving a pep talk to in verse 5?

8. David can’t worship at the temple with his friends without risking his life. What does he do?

9. Do his methods work immediately, or is it a process? Explain.

10. What advice does he give himself?

.

Let’s Review. . .

Actively seek God

It is easy to feel that God is with us when life is going well. But in difficult times, we must never let our emotions tell us that God is absent. Like David, we must let our grief tell us that we need to acknowledge that God is still accessible to us.

Enjoy spiritual fellowship with faithful friends

Isolation can be emotionally devastating. When tragedy strikes, we are wired to need our friends around us, for hugs, shared tears, encouragement, prayers and comfort. In the youth culture, lack of a support system of godly friends can be deadly. Fellowship with other Christians is key to keeping emotions in check.

Trust that God will bring victory in the end

Solutions and spiritual peace don’t always come immediately. In these few verses, feelings and faith arm-wrestle. David didn’t deny his emotions of aloneness and fear. Neither did he entirely trust those feelings. He would not be crying out to God if he really believed God was not hearing him. Remembering the truth – that God is in control and He will fight for us – will put things in their true perspective.

In a time of global anger, with depression and fear on the rise, with family betrayals and broken relationships ever looming, the Christian who puts his hope in God can still know that victory is ahead.

.

Share and Discuss. Comments are welcomed!

